Old People.
2004-02-24 - 10:19 p.m.


Feeling: Pensive.
Random Thought: I'll spare you.
Music: Some trance shit.


w00t! Mardi Gras!

So, I took my mom to Fort Jackson today to the hospital (to pick up her prescription), and it was senior's day. Or something. I kept seeing all of these old people walking around the parking lot as I waited.

Now usually, I'm not one to stare at people, but for some reason, this one old couple caught my attention. The man was helping his wife out of their vehicle, and once she was out, he stepped away so she could have room to right herself (she was having difficulty maneuvering--age, I suppose). At one point, just as he turned to look up at the hospital, she instinctively reached out for him for no apparent reason.

And without even looking, his hand reached out for her in response.

Sounds kinda dumb, I know, but it struck me as sweet. I mean, think about it. They've been together for how long? Through how many joys and sorrows? And they just know when the other reaches out like that.

Yes, I'm being senimental. But you have to realize that the best example I've had of an old, married couple were two grandparents who loathed one another. I won't get to see my mom and dad as an old, wrinkly couple. Aunt Psycho has sworn off men, and will never marry again. And I don't like Uncle Sleazy (Aunt Cool's husband). So basically, I never will see a decent example.

But as I watched this old couple, I realized that I really do want that. I want to be old and gray, and have someone there to reach out to... just because I can, or because it's too familiar not to.

And yes, I realize this isn't a huge possibility for me. That the chances of such a thing actually happening to me is about as likely as winning $900 million in the big lottery. But at least I said it.

At least I know now what I'll be missing.

~*~**~*~

My mom actually scared the shit out of me on our way home. She suddenly looked over at me and said...

"My Precioussssss."

o_O And it was a perfect impersonation.

<< - >>


Save The Rayne! - 2004-12-27
Want some popcorn? - 2004-06-23
- - 2004-06-19
Pfft. - 2004-06-12
Wheehaa!! Going to see PoA! - 2004-06-02


New�-�Old�-�Guestbook�-�Notes�-�Profile�-� Design�-�Links�-�Bio�-�Host