Smells Like Christmas Prezzies!
2003-12-22 - 4:32 a.m.


Feeling: Swamped.
Random Thought: How did I forget all these people?!
Music: Tool - Sober


My head hurts, and I think it might explode soon... or fry from the overload of information.

Why did I have to be born with such a small, lazy, and/or easily distracted mind?

I keep sniffing this gingerbread candle on my desk because it conjures up dusty memories of I don't know what. No one in my family has ever made gingerbread (to my knowledge, and my knowledge dates back to when the earth was still cooling), but I suppose it's a classic nostalgic scent. Like lavendar and fresh-baked bread... it just brings up feelings of home.

Speaking of which, do you think it's odd that one of the strongest smell-memory connections I have involves the smell of a nursing home? It's true. When I was little, my mom worked in several nursing homes as a dietician, and she always came home smelling like one. That, and makeup.

Leather and cigarette smoke makes me think of my grandmother and granddaddy. Perfume and liquor, Aunt Psycho. Pencil lead and/or liquor, Silver. Versace perfume and hairspray, Dingy.

Hmm... I'm not painting a very pretty portrait of my family, am I?

~*~**~*~

Okay, presents:

I've got Heather, Sleepy and her two children, and Sonya all behind me now. Well, except that I have to take two of the gifts I forgot to Mac and Wes on Wednesday, but otherwise, they're done.

Now...

Mama's getting a Christmas lighthouse thing, and the Angels and Demons book by Dan Brown (she loved The Davinci Codes--go Pau!). I hope the lighthouse doesn't upset her...

Silver's getting two sweatshirts from me, and he and Rhonda are both getting a bread machine from Paula (and an entertainment center shelf thingy from "Santa" if we can find one in time)

Dingy is getting several articles of clothing (*rolls eyes*)--one of the shirts and a pair of pants will be from me alone, the rest from Mom. And there's the TV and DVD player from Santa since I gave away mine to her ex-boyfriend. Christ, I'm tired of making up to her for shit that was solely my decision to make. I bought the damn TV back when I was still working, what's it to her if I wanted to give it away to someone??

*ahem* Happy Yule!

Right. Nyk is getting.... ah, crap! I meant to get him something else the other day! I have some cheesey/cheapo virtual reality thing for him, but that sucks. I have to keep my cool factor up with a video game or something!

Asa's getting a big stuffed Eeyore. I wanted to get him one of those electric zapper collars, but I didn't think Roo would not take kindly to the subliminal message in that. Speaking of Asa, does anyone remember the SNL skit, "Sprockets" (I think that was the name). Mike Meyers (again, I think that's who it was) dressed up in a black leotard-looking thing, asking if people wanted to touch his monkey? Asa look just like that in his skin-tight, black onesie the other day.

Kotabug is getting......... *blink* I forgot her and her parents!! *starts a list*

Right. I'll be baking all day tomorrow to fill the gift baskets I have for Grandmother, Aunt Psycho, and Aunt Cool (and Uncle Sleazy...if I must include him). I also have something for my proctor (really, it's a thank-you gift more so than a Christmas present), and I have to mail three other things.

GAK! I just realized I need to send a card/letter to an old friend of mine, too!

I'll get that together now. *wanders off*

<< - >>


Save The Rayne! - 2004-12-27
Want some popcorn? - 2004-06-23
- - 2004-06-19
Pfft. - 2004-06-12
Wheehaa!! Going to see PoA! - 2004-06-02


New�-�Old�-�Guestbook�-�Notes�-�Profile�-� Design�-�Links�-�Bio�-�Host