What's With The Roads?
2003-01-09 - 12:13 a.m.


Feeling:
Random Thought:
Music:


I laid down about 8:00 this evening, thinking that I'd just take a quick nap while my clothes were in the washer.

Instead, I died for about two and a half hours, and woke up wondering if any major world wars had broken out while I was gone.

And I dreamed of roads--again! I don't think I've mentioned it here before, but lately driving/traveling has been a recurring theme in my dreams.

First time it happened, I was leaving the countryside (I have no clue where I was, but it felt familiar to me in the dream), headed for a big city. I'd obviously never made the trip before because I was paying close attention to the road signs. The strange part was, I was *walking*.

I ended up having to go down into this tunnel and under a bridge in order to come out on the interstate. I don't remember the city (I just knew that's where I was going), but I remember the return trip, as I saw everything--including the bridge and tunnel--in reverse order. Only this time, I remembered coming out on a seemingly deserted road, flat land, covered in tall, brown grass, stretching all the way to the horizon. I came across some very run-down looking houses and buildings now and then, but they were few and far between.

The next time it happened (on a completely different night), I was in what had to be a very large city, as I kept going from one section to another--like they were all little towns within a much larger city. This time, I didn't feel as though I really knew my way, but I didn't pay heed to any of the signs, though I remember knowing that they were there. Rather, I let my instincts, my sense of direction, and (this is strange) the look of the curves and off-ramps in the road guide me. There were people there with me, too--"friends" I didn't know. Apparently I worked with them, and must have been part of a carpool or something since they were in the vehicle with me. I don't think I ever got out of the car, except for once--when we stopped at this huge mall, but that's a story in itself.

Tonight I dreamed that I was riding a bicycle (note: I do not own a bicycle) to a town that is about 20 or so miles from here. Riding the bike required little effort, and the trip took no time at all. But I remembered stopping twice. The first stop was the most vivid part of the dream, and I always remember the most vivid parts--even when they scare the hell out of me--in minute detail. It's a curse, really.

Anyway, the first time I stopped it was at the top of a hill that sloped into a gentle curve before rising again. The scene was really beautiful, and it's the only time I've seen the sunlight in these particular dreams, as the sky is usually gray and overcast (not surprising, considering my love of rainy days and all that jazz). All around the land sloped upward, and it was covered with a thick forest of tall, majestic trees--except for the stretch of land to my left. That part had obviously been cleared at some point, but the landscape was still naturally rugged and beautiful as little saplings dotted the scene here and there, growing in the midst of tall, thick grasses. The sun was hanging low, close to setting, and cast a golden light on everything it touched.

But the most important detail stood transfixed at the bottom of the hill--my reason for stopping in the first place (though I haven't figured out the meaning, and probably never will). At the edge of the road, on the right-hand side, stood this deer with a huge rack. I want to say that he was white, but he may have just been pale gray--I couldn't really tell in the glow of the light. In any case, he was looking directly at me, and I stared back for what seemed like forever. I don't remember getting past that hill, but I must have since I found myself at my destination shortly thereafter.

The second time I stopped, it was a bit more vague--except for one thing: I was at crossroad, so to speak. This part is more than a little wierd as you'll soon see.

To my right, there was an acceleration ramp, leading to yet another interstate. This seemed to be important, since I can still see it clear as a bell. The sky here was overcast (again), and I can even remember the little reflector thingies that were placed along the white lines on either side. And while I'm giving you boring and unnecessary details, I'll go ahead and note that it looked awfully curvy to be an acceleration ramp, though I could tell that it was easily possible to cut a straight path without running off the road once. That is, the edges of the road were curved, but the road itself was not curved enough to justify steering in a curving fashion, if that makes any sense what so ever.

Yeah, it gets weirder.

Ahead of me, was the doorway leading to our guest bathroom. To my left was my dad's bedroom. These two factors told me that I was actually standing at the end of our hallway, and there just happened to be ramp to the interstate where our laundry room door should have been (don't laugh at me). As this dawned on me, I heard a voice next to me, and looked over to see someone else on a bike. I didn't get a good look at her face, but I got a strong feeling that she was my childhood friend, whom I will call Kiki. [Quick note on Kiki: We were in kindergarden together, and pretty much grew up together, though we went separate ways somewhere in junior high. Her being in my dream isn't a big surprise to me though, as I just found out yesterday that she is pregnant with twins--but I'm getting off the subject.] Kiki was asking me which way I wanted to go. I looked back to my right and considered taking the ramp to the interstate.

Then, I turned my bicycle in the direction of my dad's bedroom, and said "We'll take the closet back to town."

<< - >>


Save The Rayne! - 2004-12-27
Want some popcorn? - 2004-06-23
- - 2004-06-19
Pfft. - 2004-06-12
Wheehaa!! Going to see PoA! - 2004-06-02


New�-�Old�-�Guestbook�-�Notes�-�Profile�-� Design�-�Links�-�Bio�-�Host