Christmas Day 2002
2002-12-25 - 10:41 p.m.


Feeling:
Random Thought:
Music:


My dad was hit last night by the plague that's been sweeping through our family at an alarmingly rapid pace. I knew he would be pitiful if he got it. He turns into a big baby when he's got the least little sniffle, bless his heart, and earlier today he was in infancy mode big time.

I, on the other hand, have felt almost normal today--thank you, God! *knock on wood* I've been taking care of most of the housework and the running around. But that's what I promised my mom: if she and Dad got sick, I'd take care of the house and the animals. It's the least I can do since she took care of my sick, sorry ass.

This morning, I went out to Silver's to drop of the little bit of Santa goodies that got left out of the big bag. He's doing better, thank goodness.

Then, I went and ate lunch (left overs) at Grandmother's. I was going to risk having some chilli, but she'd already put it in the freezer. Bummer. It's a tradition in our family to have chilli (am I even spelling that right??) and mashed potatoes on Christmas Eve. My Granddaddy used to make a pot for himself ("I don't eat no g*ddamn ham, Viola!"), but at some point we all started dipping into the pot. Personally, I've never liked ham (unless it was on a sandwich) and I guess everyone else just got tired of it, since it used to be the traditional Christmas Eve dish. So, he obviously had to make more and more each year, and that's how the whole tradition started. Of course, it has become a permanent fixture on the Christmas Eve table since he died. She wasn't going to have it at all, but being met with hostile protests from every branch of the family tree changed her mind, I guess.

But I've gotten way off the subject.

After lunch, I came back home for a little while, then called Aunt Leese. Leese (pronounced like "please" without the "p") is the Aunt I've been calling Aunt Psycho all this time. Leese is her real name. I guess you could say that I've turned over a new leaf. There will be no more petty name calling (unless I'm protecting the innocent, like "Sleepy" and "Roo" and "Silver") in my diary. Besides, this is Christmas, and that's when you're *supposed* make good changes like these.

Damn! Got off the subject AGAIN!

Right. I called Aunt Leese to see if she had any cans of cat food that we could borrow. All of the grocery stores were closed today, and }}how freaking convenient??{{ we ran out of cat and dog food. Since she has two very large cats and a keen instinct for hitting sales, I figured she'd have a can or two to spare (dog food was provided by Grandmother Clause). She said she had plenty since she started her cats on a diet, so I decided to take a movie over there and visit for a while.

We wouldn't even *need* canned cat food if it weren't for Morris, The Cat That Won't Die. It may sound mean of me to call him that, but you have to know the story about this formerly bionic (and now just doddering and senile) old feline. He's on his 99th life! Remind me to tell you his story one day. It's all my mother's fault, really.

Anyway, after visiting for few hours with Aunt Leese (which included watching Snow Dogs) and stopping back by Grandmother's for supper, I came home--which is where I've been ever since.

I called Silver just a little while ago to see if they had a pleasant Christmas Day. He finally looked at the page I did for him. He's wanting to use our town Web site (the one that I recently revamped for him) as a sort of "jumping off" place for visitors or people relocating to the area (although, Lord only knows why they'd want to visit or relocate here, but that's not the point). It gives people information on the town, the sort of economy we have here, the schools and so forth. I say it's for the "town" but it's really for the entire county--ours is just the largest town in it.

Anyway, he wants to start running home pages for local businesses under that domain--to give them a place to advertise on the site. He's really wanting to pump up this site, now that I've redone it, which really makes me feel good. I had thought that he was just saying he liked the makeover...you know, just to make me feel better. But, he REALLY liked it, and he liked the way I laid out the section on the business home pages, which makes me very happy. He even wanted to start running an ad in the paper NEXT WEEK! EEEK! I said, "No, no, no. PLEASE wait until about mid-January so I can see what my schedule is going to be like this Spring!" All of my classes are online, but they doesn't mean they're going to be easy! Plus, I still have tons more to do to that section--especially since I'm also plugging his domain hosting service (that's a section in itself, really!)

Whew!

And I thought I wasn't going to have anything to do on my break. Shoulda known better! But that's okay--I'm loving every minute of it (minus all the icky sick parts, of course)!

So, all in all, this Christmas Day has turned out to be the best for me (considering how I was feeling yesterday and the day before that). And now my dad has finally gotten to where he can hold some stuff down (mostly liquids, but it's a start).

Yep, this is definitely a good ending to what I thought was going to be another bad day.

Merry Christmas!!!!

<< - >>


Save The Rayne! - 2004-12-27
Want some popcorn? - 2004-06-23
- - 2004-06-19
Pfft. - 2004-06-12
Wheehaa!! Going to see PoA! - 2004-06-02


New�-�Old�-�Guestbook�-�Notes�-�Profile�-� Design�-�Links�-�Bio�-�Host