Wal-mart Hell, Chocolate Heaven.
2002-12-21 - 12:28 a.m.


Feeling:
Random Thought:
Music:


-=^HELL^=-

I should have known better.

Went to Satan-mart with my mom, in our beat up, old Dodge truck. As the parking lot came into view, I mentally groaned. Cars were parked clear up to the road, and spread over the entire area of the massive lot.

Yep, it sucked.

At first, my mom was like, "we'll come back in the middle of the night." That was more than okay with me at that point, so we went to the beauty supply place (to get Roo a drape and smock for when she cuts hair). When we got back in the truck and started to leave, I experienced a moment of weakness and decided to go ahead and enter the Kingdom of Doom.

Good God and all the Saints, it was packed. And what's worse, all the idiots were out in full force. I thought I'd have a nervous breakdown before I even got to the cosmetics department--and that was the first place we went. By the time we finally made it to the grocery section (last stop on the list), I was thanking every God I'd ever heard of that I didn't have any lethal weapons on me. I would have done a great deal of harm to more than just myself at that point.

I was quickly blowing a head gasket, and I try not to do that very often.

Anyway, we headed for the registers and quickly discovered the mile-long lines at each. However, the 20-items-or-less lines were practically non-existent. Since I was already insane, I did what any crazy person would do. I went to the aisle where the laundry baskets were located and unloaded all but the 20 most important items.

Some poor stock person is going to have a job on their hands, but so it must be to save my sanity.

Most of the items were of the grocery variety, anyway--which I got at the local grocery store when we got back to town. We went by the movie store, too, to get me a DVD, but as Dingy likes to say, "the pickin's were slim." So I came home, and as God is my witness, I'll never go back to that awful place as long as I live (unless it's unavoidable or an emergency).

~*HEAVEN*~

I made a kick-ass chocolate pie. I recommend it to everyone! Here's the recipe:

1 Oreo pie crust (like those ready-made graham cracker kind, only this is made with oreo cookies)

1 small container of whipped topping

1 pkg. (8 oz.) cream cheese

1 cup confectioners' sugar

1 pkg. (5.9 oz.) *instant* chocolate pudding (as in, NOT the kind you cook)

1 and 1/3 cups of milk

1 regular sized hershey bar (optional, and I'm not sure exactly what the size of the bar is, but it's not the huge kind and it's not the miniatures.)

Directions:

In a mixing bowl, combine cream cheese, confectioners' sugar, and 1 cup of whipped topping. Beat until creamy (will be rather thick, since you're working with cream cheese, but that's okay). Gently spread the entire mixture onto the bottom and sides of the chocolate pie crust--be careful, the crust crumbles easily. You'll sort of need to make the mixture conform to the shape of the crust so that you have a place for the pudding to go. Also, it'll look like there's not enough room for the chocolate pudding, but trust me...there's enough room.

Now, in another bowl, empty the pudding mix and add the milk. Stir with a wire whisk (or whatever utensil you normally use when making instant pudding). It will seem just a wee bit thicker than pudding normally does--which is perfect. Spread that on top of the cream cheese layer.

Spread an even layer of whipped cream over the top (there will be some topping left over, so don't think you have to use all of it). I also took a cake decorating thingy and made little swirly dollops around the edge and in the center, but you don't have to be Little Miss Fancy Pants like me. Chop or shave the Hershey bar and sprinkle over the top (or between the outside and the middle dollops if you choose to be Miss/Mr. Fancy Pants).

Refrigerate for at least 2 hours before serving.

Voila!

Instant Chocolate Heaven.

<< - >>


Save The Rayne! - 2004-12-27
Want some popcorn? - 2004-06-23
- - 2004-06-19
Pfft. - 2004-06-12
Wheehaa!! Going to see PoA! - 2004-06-02


New�-�Old�-�Guestbook�-�Notes�-�Profile�-� Design�-�Links�-�Bio�-�Host