...................................................
2002-12-22 - 6:42 p.m.


Feeling:
Random Thought:
Music:


This is what I woke up to this morning:

*My mom tosses the phone onto my bed*

Me: *groggy* "Hello?"

Aunt Scorpio (aka Aunt Psycho): "Rayne? Were you asleep?"

Me: "Um...yeah?"

Aunt Scorp: "I'm sorry. I told your mama not to wake you up."

Me: "That's okay...I needed to wake up anyway."

Aunt Scorp: "Well, I just saw this thing on TV about a 'Witch Board.' Do you KNOW what that IS?!"

Me: "Yeah. Do you?"

Aunt Scorp: "It's a OUJI BOARD! I HAVE one of those under my CHINA CABINET!"

Me: "I thought you gave that to one of Gigi's little friends."

Aunt Scorp: "Yeah, I gave my other one away! But I bought another one for one of Gigi's spend-the-night parties. This is the same one that we used that Halloween...you remember?"

Me: "Okay. Well, what about it?"

Aunt Scorp: "They called it a WITCH'S BOARD! I have a WITCH'S BOARD in my HOUSE!"

Me: "Um.....yeah, I guess if a Witch wants to do some divination or channeling, then it could technically be called a 'Witch's Board'......so what?"

Aunt Scorp: "SO?! I have to GET RID OF THIS THING! They said whenever you use it, you 'open yourself up' to evil things!"

Me: "Scorp, you only 'open yourself up' to whatever you want. And those things are no more evil than you are." *okay...maybe that was a bad analogy.*

Aunt Scorp: *sarcastic chuckle* "Rayne, I'm pretty bad."

Me: *yeah, no shit.* "Look, if it'll make you feel better, just take the damn thing out back and burn it."

Aunt Scorp: *Gasp!* "I can't BURN IT! I don't want MY HOUSE to burn down 'cause I burned that...that...THING!"

Me: *sigh* "Your house is NOT going to burn down just 'cause you've burned a bit of wood and plastic. Besides, if I remember correctly, the damned thing couldn't even spell--so I seriously doubt we 'contacted' anything other than our own energy! Plus, it told Sleepy that she'd never have any children, and she now has TWO! Look, the point is...nothing is going to happen unless you let it."

Aunt Scorp: "But they said it was a WITCH'S BOARD! That means it's EVIL!"

Me: "Scorp, do you KNOW what a witch really is?"

Aunt Scorp: "Yes, do YOU?"

Me: "Yeah, and apparently I know a helluva lot more than YOU DO! Witches aren't evil, and if there are any out there doing *bad things* then they don't understand what it means either! And furthermore, what's hidden away under YOUR china cabinet has no 'power' other than what YOU give it. So just take the damned thing out back and BURN IT if it'll make you feel better!"

Aunt Scorp: *silence*

Me: "Hello?"

Aunt Scorp: "Hello. I'm here.....you're right. I feel better."

Me: "Good."

End of conversation.

But it wasn't really.

The conversation sparked something...something I need to mull over. I've been baking all day (and will be doing so for the better part of the night), so I can't think about it right now.

Anyway, I wish it was something I could write about here, but there are some things for which words do no justice.

So I won't even try...

<< - >>


Save The Rayne! - 2004-12-27
Want some popcorn? - 2004-06-23
- - 2004-06-19
Pfft. - 2004-06-12
Wheehaa!! Going to see PoA! - 2004-06-02


New�-�Old�-�Guestbook�-�Notes�-�Profile�-� Design�-�Links�-�Bio�-�Host