My First Pecan Pie (and other ramblings)
2002-12-09 - 2:22 a.m.


Feeling:
Random Thought:
Music:


I have officially made my very first pecan pie.

It is very good (also very rich), but sadly, it is not the right consistency. That is, it may be good to some, but I don't particularly like pecan pies that have the same texture as custard. I like them thicker--not exactly chewy, but close.

Anyway, that was just one of two recipes that Grandmother gave me, and it was the only one that uses Karo syrup. I'll try making the other recipe closer to Christmas. Then, I'll decide which one I will make for my Christmas goody baskets.

Man, I'm sleepy.

In other crappy news, the "heat strips" in our central heat went out, so our house is now a nice, cozy 55�! Yay. The electrician is supposed to come replace these infamous strips-o'-heat tomorrow, but I'm not betting the farm on it. Wilbur (yes, that's his real name) is the only decent electrician/handyman in this town, and everyone competes for his time. We once went without air conditioning for a week because he was so behind schedule. Thank goodness I was working in the warehouse then, and had become very comfortable with 110� surroundings. Winter always seems to be the worst time for him (if you're one of the many vying for his time, that is).

I'm tempted to go sleep with my mom in her room--just 'cause I know her bed is already warm. I would do it, too, if it weren't for the fact that my guilty conscience keeps telling me that Missy would think I don't love her.

Oh! I watched the extended version of LOTR! My God, how much more clear the storyline was in that version! Plus, MORE LEGOLAS! That right there makes it like a billion times better! He's so yummy. Also, I read some reviews of the upcoming sequel, and even though it sounds like it's going to be an awesome movie (how could it NOT be?), I'm not sure if I'll want to watch it in the theaters. They say it's going to be much more violent, and I don't do in-your-face violence as well as I do fast-forwardable-violence.

See the "About Me" section located in the right margin of this screen if you're confused over that last statement.

*Ahem*

Final grades are supposed to be turned into the registrar by the end of the day tomorrow. I'm so ready to know what my grades were for this semester. I know I haven't made below a "B," so unless there are some surprises, I've no doubt I'll be feeling pretty damned proud of myself here soon.

Did I mention how sleepy I am?

*BIG Yawn*

'Night.

<< - >>


Save The Rayne! - 2004-12-27
Want some popcorn? - 2004-06-23
- - 2004-06-19
Pfft. - 2004-06-12
Wheehaa!! Going to see PoA! - 2004-06-02


New�-�Old�-�Guestbook�-�Notes�-�Profile�-� Design�-�Links�-�Bio�-�Host