Turkey!
2002-11-28 - 11:08 a.m.


Feeling:
Random Thought:
Music:


Happy Thanksgiving!

I'm surprised I'm up this early, considering the fact that I was up 'til 4 a.m. watching Pride and Prejudice.

I love that movie.

I love Colin Firth in it.

Another A&E-type movie that I really like is Victoria and Albert, which is coming on at noon. Unfortunately, I'll have to miss half of it (at the very least) because I'll be at Grandmother's doing the whole Thanksgiving thing.

Dingy's new "boyfriend" will be there.

Did I mention that he is a deer hunter?

Better yet, did I mention that I dislike deer hunting (at least, as it is done nowadays) very much?

My brother (who is so NOT the type) went hunting with a co-worker once. According to his account of the experience they "sat in a tree, freezing their asses off, and drinking beer."

No offense to any men or women out there who enjoy this sort of thing, but...that's not "hunting." That's called "lying in wait." The word "hunting" insinuates actually going out and looking for something. In my opinion, if you want to consider yourself a real hunter, you'll get out there and actively pursue the animal with a bow. And if you're any good at what you do, then your first shot will be the most humane.

Oh, and if a person hunts merely for sport (i.e. just to have the head and/or skin of the animal hanging like a trophy on your wall or whatever) then I hope they realize they are the scum of the Earth. Hunting for food is one thing--it's part of the natural survival process. Hunting simply so you can have pieces of the animal, and discarding the rest is not natural and you should be beheaded and skinned yourself.

My opinion. My diary. You understand.

Right, well...I didn't mean to get off on THAT tangent, but expressing one's opinion isn't always bad.

In any case, Dingy's boyfriend is an avid hunter, so that's one conversation I won't be participating in today. But it should turn out to be a pleasant get-together--even though Gigi and Big Daddy won't be there. Neither will Roo and Silver. That means I'll probably just sit there (by the fire, if she's built one) with my mouth shut.

I find that is usually the best way to avoid any mishaps at these events.

Gotta run.

<< - >>


Save The Rayne! - 2004-12-27
Want some popcorn? - 2004-06-23
- - 2004-06-19
Pfft. - 2004-06-12
Wheehaa!! Going to see PoA! - 2004-06-02


New�-�Old�-�Guestbook�-�Notes�-�Profile�-� Design�-�Links�-�Bio�-�Host