My Name is Rayne, and I'm a Diary Snob
2002-11-21 - 9:48 a.m.


Feeling:
Random Thought:
Music:


This isn't an official update for today.

However, if you don't see another entry for today then it will officially become an offical update.

Got it?

Okay, moving on...

I have now come to terms with the fact that I am a total diary snob.

I have a list of a select few Diaryland members that--through pure luck (or talent or common interests)--have become my favorites. Mind you, I've gotten out there, and I've read PUH-LENTY of diaries. But only these very special few have made it to my favorites list (and if you read my diary and/or have checked your profile, then you know perfectly well who you are).

Once or twice, I've come across a diary that looked interesting enough, and I've even bookmarked these diaries for future investigation. However, upon closer inspection, none of them were found worthy of addition.

And it is that sad fact which makes me label myself a total diary snob.

Now, before you do any Rayne-bashing, please note the following common-sense characterisitics which I find admirable, and see if you don't agree:

1. TALENT. Okay...so maybe it's not so much "talent" as it is "content". It's the ability to laugh (or make others laugh) at your life--or life in general. It's having a unique perspective on the mundane. It's speaking straight from the heart. Or it could be inventing new and creative ways to deal with problems that most everyone has to deal with. In short, it is the "stickiness" of your diary that counts the most. You could be a very interesting person, but if you're not communicating that through your words, I'm probably not reading past the first two lines.

2. DEPTH. This is really self-explanitory, but I'll elaborate anyway. I don't like anything superficial (despite the fact that I'm probably giving that impression even as I type this). I like content to be meaningful. I like it when others appeal to my soul or my heart, rather than filling my mind with vague and useless information. Not that I am completely opposed to information that is vague and useless, of course--it sometimes fits my mood perfectly. But for the most part, I enjoy reading the philosophical ponderings of others.

3. GOOD DESIGN. Your layout is kind of like your handshake. And those standard Diaryland templates scream "limp fish." Also, interaction is a good thing. You don't necessarily have to have links all over the place, but a guestbook and e-mail address don't exactly hurt. And if you happen to have links to your favorite Web sites and/or your favorite diaries, it just makes it more interesting. I know, I know, I should practice what I preach--which is why I'll be adding to my diary in the near future (possibly today).

4. GOOD DIARIST-TO-READER RELATIONS. The truth is, most people like telling others what to do or being able to offer advice. I am no exception. I like it when a diarist appeals directly to his/her readers. Ask me my opinion, damnit! You're probably going to get it anyway! Polls are cool, too. This could technically be categorized as "interaction" (see #3: GOOD DESIGN), but I thought it deserved its own category.

So, now you know.

I'm a complete diary snob.

<< - >>


Save The Rayne! - 2004-12-27
Want some popcorn? - 2004-06-23
- - 2004-06-19
Pfft. - 2004-06-12
Wheehaa!! Going to see PoA! - 2004-06-02


New�-�Old�-�Guestbook�-�Notes�-�Profile�-� Design�-�Links�-�Bio�-�Host