Hair Cut of The Damned
2002-11-20 - 12:48 a.m.


Feeling:
Random Thought:
Music:


I went to Silver's last night so that Roo could cut my hair. Actually, "cut" sounds a little extreme (and I'm very sensitive when it comes to my hair), so let me rephrase that.

I got my hair *trimmed*.

Yes. That sounds much better.

Now, I will answer the question as to why I'm so sensitive about my hair?

Trust me, it's not just because I'm a chick.

Allow me to tell you the story...

From the first moment I had hair (which was pretty much from the day I was born--unlike Gigi, who was completely bald until she was two), my mom kept it cut boy-short and/or permed in tight little curls. Basically, that meant that for the first twelve years of my life, I either looked like Annie (which is exactly what one little boy in my kindergarden class used to call me), or I looked like a boy.

Needless to say, as soon as I gained any sort of independence in the hairstyle department (which was around the age of thirteen), I grew my hair long. And I've never cut it shorter than my jawline since.

I WAS SCARRED, DAMNIT!

You would be, too, if you'd been a young, impressionable, girl who lacked any sort of self-esteem, and was always being mistaken for a boy!

Anyway, I realized that the last time I'd cut my hair it was *surprise, surprise* because of a guy. When I met him, I had long hair--which was something he found attractive about me. When we broke up, I cut it off just to spite him.

Silly me. *smirk*

But even before then I was constantly changing it--short and curly, dyed light auburn; cut in a bob, dyed blood red; cut in layers, dyed dark blonde (that was Dingy's doing--she convinced me I would look good as a blonde...NOT); bangs, no bangs; and so on. I've had more hair styles/colors than I can count on my fingers and toes.

Last night, Silver asked me why I don't just cut it all off. I told him, "You should be glad to see that I've kept it the same way for so long. To me, it's proof of just how happy I've been."

It's the truth. If I weren't happy, I'd be *scrounging* to find something new, something different. Anything. Just so long as it made me feel like a new person. But I don't feel like changing it now. I'm happy with it just the way it is.

But more importantly, I'm happy with myself. And that's saying a lot.

So anyway, while I was there having my hair trimmed, she started talking about this "book" that her nephew is writing. Somehow this "book" ended up in my lap as she was snipping away. I have to say it was really good.

Then we got on the subject of Anne Rice's novels (just don't ask me how--cause it had nothing to do with the subject of his book). This is where Silver entered into the conversation, and the old debate resumed.

"Queen of The Damned: Good Literature, or Literary Fuck-up"

Roo's take: Queen of The Damned is the awesomest novel she's ever read. You're introduced to practically EVERY character there is.

Silver's rebuttal: In Interview, she developed the character of Louis so well, that you were left seeing Lastat as a completely selfish, completely unfeeling, total dickhead. In The Vampire Lestat, she developed Lestat so well that you were left seeing Louis as a whining, sniveling, little bitch. In Queen of The Damned, she introduces AN ENTIRE CAST OF CHARACTERS, but DEVELOPS NONE OF THEM. Had she written Queen of The Damed in the same way as the first two, and developed the character of Akasha, then he would have LOVED it. Instead, he hates it for the very same reason(s) that Roo loves it.

It shouldn't surprise anyone to know that I left their house last night with a copy of Interview in one hand (cause I stupidly said that I'd never read it), and a copy of Queen of The Damned in the other.

Thank goodness I'd already read Lestat years ago--otherwise I would have had the whole lot of them shoved into my hands!

How do I get myself into these situations?

The last book I read by Anne Rice was Pandora...and I loved it. Unfortunately for Silver and Roo, I have to be a very particular mood to read her novels.

And this week, I'm not in that mood.

Next week isn't looking too good, either.

The Queen and her cast of The Damned will simply have to wait.

<< - >>


Save The Rayne! - 2004-12-27
Want some popcorn? - 2004-06-23
- - 2004-06-19
Pfft. - 2004-06-12
Wheehaa!! Going to see PoA! - 2004-06-02


New�-�Old�-�Guestbook�-�Notes�-�Profile�-� Design�-�Links�-�Bio�-�Host