Visits With The Dead
2002-11-04 - 7:03 a.m.


Feeling:
Random Thought:
Music:


I joke about this a lot (*whispering* "I see dead people"), even though it isn't really a joke.

I only half-heartedly buy into the whole thing, because I always visit with these deceased persons in dreams. And, as I'm sure everyone is aware, dreams are actually little more than your own brain processing all the crap that it's absorbed while you were conscious.

In fact, I have interpreted most of these dreams as being just that--shit that I've been dealing with while awake.

But out of those few dreams that I have no explanation for, there is one in particular that seems to be exceptionally strange.

Understand this before I retell this dream: I never really knew the man in question. He was married to my aunt, and he is Gigi's father, but he died when I was about 5 or 6 (Gigi was about 2). To hear anyone in my family tell it, he was a very unpleasant person. He was abusive and his life was riddled with addictions. But those are all stories--like fairy tales. Unreal since they were not experienced by me personally. I just want to point that out. I had absolutely no sort of relationship with this man, so there should have been no reason for me to dream of him (and I've not dreamed of him before or since).

But there he was. In my childhood church, beckoning for me follow him down the stairs, toward the basement (where a series of sunday school classrooms are housed). As I walked along the corridor, I saw children inside these rooms, dressed up as though they were about to put on a Christmas pageant.

About half-way down this hallway, I was given a reason to pause as a little girl peeked out of the doorway of one of these classes. She was dressed as an angel, cute as a button, with her dark curls and blue eyes.

But I wasn't to linger there. He was pulling me along, sending me back up another flight of stairs. At the top was another classroom, filled with adults. I got a strong impression that these were the parents of the children I'd seen downstairs. I noticed that he was standing beside one circle of adults, staring intently into the small huddle. Interested in what he saw that was so fascinated, I too looked into the small group.

And there stood Gigi.

I turned around to question him, but he was gone. When I looked back at Gigi, I remembered thinking how beautiful she is (and she is a very strikingly beautiful person--always has been, much to my jealous despair). But I wasn't to linger there either, as I was awaken by the sound of a ringing telephone.

Immediately upon answering it, I was greeted by Gigi's questioning "Guess what?"

Without any pause or hesitation, I groggily said, "You're pregnant."

"How did you know?! Who TOLD you?!"

There was only one answer.

"Your daddy."

<< - >>


Save The Rayne! - 2004-12-27
Want some popcorn? - 2004-06-23
- - 2004-06-19
Pfft. - 2004-06-12
Wheehaa!! Going to see PoA! - 2004-06-02


New�-�Old�-�Guestbook�-�Notes�-�Profile�-� Design�-�Links�-�Bio�-�Host