Weird, Respectful, and Spiritual
2002-11-02 - 12:21 a.m.


Feeling:
Random Thought:
Music:


I've noticed that I've gotten into an almost obsessive-compulsive habit of having to check the diaries on my fave list before I can update my own. I dunno...maybe I think it would be impolite to update first or something. Maybe I have a deep-rooted need to outdo everyone else and am therefore "checking out" the competition. Maybe I just need inspiration. Maybe there is no reason.

Maybe I'm just weird like that.

So anyway, hi.

I can't speak for the other days in this past week, but today I was having my ass kicked--AGAIN!--by this cold I haven't been able to shake for over two weeks now. It's in my chest and it's just kinda hangin' out there.

I really which it would go hang out somewhere else. I'm getting tired of it.

Speaking of illnesses, I found out that my ex-supervisor, Ms. Jean, had an aneurism this weekend and nearly died. That's so scary. I mean, I believe she's had problems in the past with her blood pressure affecting one of her senses (I'm not sure which one--I think it was her hearing), but from what I've heard, this was really close call.

I feel bad. I was never exactly her best friend because....well...we were so much alike as far as power trips go. We both were very strong-willed, so we were always butting heads. Usually though, I was forced to back down because...well...she WAS in a position to take my job!

I admired her, though...even if everyone who worked for her at the time DID think she was looney. But that doesn't matter. Like I said, she was strong-willed. She wanted what she wanted, when she wanted it, and how she wanted it. You didn't ask questions. Anyone could plainly see that she was one tough lady.

And if I remember correctly, as long as the job got done, it didn't matter how you did it...as long as you let her think you did it her way.

She also gave me a chance. No one had EVER given me a chance to prove myself. And once I had, she pushed me further--right into the hands of another admirable lady, who also pushed me further.

I owe a lot to these two women. I especially owe a lot to Mrs. Jean. She may have gotten on the nerves of everyone of her employees (including me), but she demanded and deserved respect.

I think I'll send her a card. Dingy's Ex will know where to send it, I'm sure.

Moving on...

I ordered this set of candles for Halloween. Guess what came in the mail today--A DAY TOO LATE?

Yep, my Halloween candles.

It sucks, but at least we have them for next year.

Oh and since it was All Saint's Day (yesterday), I got the bright idea to look up the Catholic Saints. Not being a Catholic (or even knowing anyone who is Catholic), I was shocked to see just how many there are out there!

Of course, I had to look up St. Brigid. I've heard of her (as she was supposed to be the Catholic Church's replacement figure for the Goddess Brigid), but I didn't know her story.

It's funny to me how much of Catholicism (and consequently, Protestantism) was defined by Paganism. The early Catholic Church did a lot of improvising and redefining in order to accomodate the Pagan masses when trying to convert them.

For instance, Pagans worship entire pantheons of dieties (both male and female). Catholics technically worship one God, bound together within the Trinity, but they have an entire pantheon of Saints for back-up (so to speak).

This is a subject I'll have to think more on later.

As for now, I'm going to bed.

I've taken two quizzes tonight, and I have two exams to take by midnight tomorrow night.

I need rest now.

<< - >>


Save The Rayne! - 2004-12-27
Want some popcorn? - 2004-06-23
- - 2004-06-19
Pfft. - 2004-06-12
Wheehaa!! Going to see PoA! - 2004-06-02


New�-�Old�-�Guestbook�-�Notes�-�Profile�-� Design�-�Links�-�Bio�-�Host