That was just plain WRONG!
2002-10-29 - 2:16 a.m.


Feeling:
Random Thought:
Music:


There was this popular e-mail that was circulating around not TOO long ago that contained a link to a Web site that had this picture of a really messy room. At the back of the room, there was a darkened doorway that you were supposed to stare at in order to see this image--kinda like those third eye prints, where you stare at the patterns until the image within is revealed (or you go cross-eyed, whichever comes first).

Well, everyone on the planet should know by now that IT IS A TRICK! After a minute or two, this really freaky-looking figure comes flying out at you and since your mind can't process it quickly enough, you essentially wet your pants.

Or, if you're like me, this glass-shattering scream escapes from your lungs and you go running out of the room. Only, there's a baby gate blocking the path, so you're forced to bumble your way over it as best as you possibly can during a moment of pure, ultra-potent panic.

And yes, there IS a point to all of this rambling!

Just focus on the damn story, and stop being so damned impatient!!

Damnit!

So anyway, I just got this e-mail from my dad's so-called cousin (I say "so-called cousin" because we'll be holding a family meeting here shortly to see if she'll be allowed to stay--family members just don't DO things like this to other family members!). It, too, contained a link to a site, only this time it said something like "name that tune, I know the lyrics but not the artist," and blah, blah, blah.

But since I'm not a COMPLETE idiot at this point, I took the little alarms that went off in my head (after observing that the URL ended in .swf), and decided to resize my browser down to this little, tiny window, after clicking on the link. It flashed "loading..." over and over, and then finally some words started to scroll up the screen.

Here's the part where I become a COMPLETE idiot.

I couldn't read the words (since the page was cleverly constrained so that all content therein was in proportion to the page when I resized the window), so I decided to just open it up. That's when I started reading the words. And I should point out that I was leaning in as I did this (don't ask me WHY!).

As you can probably guess, it was a YET ANOTHER TRICK!

The ghoulish face that suddenly popped up on the screen didn't provoke the same horrible scream (I was probably still expecting it on a subconscious level), but I did jump out of my chair.

Then, I immediately closed the window, took several deep breaths until my heart climbed back out of my toes, and let a giggle bubble up to release some of the lingering tension.

Now I've decided to be half-heartedly indignant about it. That was just wrong.

I HAVE AN ANXIETY DISORDER, PEOPLE!

When Silver sent the e-mail that I mentioned at the beginning of this entry, my panic attacks had just started to mysteriously return (after being on vacation for a good year and a half). Let's just say that I did some serious reverting in the not-being-able-to-breathe-and-thinking-you're-dying department after that.

I'm glad I'm okay NOW, though. At least THIS time I calmed down in just a few minutes (as opposed to crying my eyeballs out because I *still* wasn't anywhere near calm an hour later, like the last time). At least THIS time I can clearly see the humor in the prank.

And THIS time Silver won't get a good laugh out of my being terrorized.

Hhmmm, speaking of which...maybe I should forward it to him.....

<< - >>


Save The Rayne! - 2004-12-27
Want some popcorn? - 2004-06-23
- - 2004-06-19
Pfft. - 2004-06-12
Wheehaa!! Going to see PoA! - 2004-06-02


New�-�Old�-�Guestbook�-�Notes�-�Profile�-� Design�-�Links�-�Bio�-�Host