Bawling, Birthdays, and Bitching
2002-10-16 - 11:47 p.m.


Feeling:
Random Thought:
Music:


This might be a chick thing...I don't know.

I've never cried over a cockroach.

Anyway, I read "The Metamorphosis" by Franz Kafka, and yes...I cried.

I KNOW! It's STUPID!

But I can't help it.

Go back through my entries...you'll see where I've spoken a couple of times on the issue of empathy.

THIS is what I'm talking about.

By the way, if anyone who stumbles across this entry has read the story in question and cried (or felt like crying or could at least *understand* why I cried), let me know.

Of course, I may be the only sap left in the world.

It's possible.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

We had my dad's birthday supper here this evening. It was Ace's first visit to our house, but he wouldn't know. He was too busy sleeping.

I picked him up and was holding him. After a few minutes, he did a little squirm in my arms, made a face, then tossed his arm back so that it draped over mine.

He was chillin'...

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Did I mention that I sent off for most of the gifts on my Christmas list? Yeah, I now have only seven items left to get...then I'll be done.

I'm SO gonna get done early this year.

Which is kinda silly since we don't have THAT many people in our family. Compared to Roo's family (she's the youngest of about six children--and they ALL have more than one child each), we're actually pretty tiny!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Most recent thing to piss me off:

Sleepy is a huge fan of the paintings of Thomas Kinkade (i.e. "The Painter of The Light"). Personally, I think he's *alright* as a painter, but I don't like his style...nor his subject matter. But I asked her what she wanted (thinking she'd say something like "oh, I really NEED some tupperware" or "well, I could really USE some [insert useful household items here]...silly me) and she said she would really like an art print by Thomas Kinkade to hang in her living room.

I've seen her living room, and it IS kinda bare as far as decorative accessories go. So, I told her I'd look for one.

I looked alright.

I could have sworn I saw some of his prints at Art.com once upon a time, but when I visited the site, there was no Kinkade to be found. Then I did a search online and found them.

>>START OF RANT<<

For no less than $100-$150!!

Art Print = Inexpensive, thoughtful gift

Sign/Numbered Lithograph = EXPEN$$$IVE

I love Sleepy, but I do NOT love Kinkade THAT much!

If anyone thinks my being pissed off about this is trivial, do a search on Thomas Kinkade.

First of all, you're likely to find an overwhelming majority of his items at "Christian" gift stores.

Secondly, you're going to be bombarded with trinket boxes, throws, decorative pillows, note cards, and blah, blah, blah.

His art is found on anything and everything that has a decent surface on which to display it! There's even village sets created from his art! All of these items (and you KNOW he's getting a cut of that money!) and he only sells his art in SIGNED/NUMBERED LITHOGRAPHS?!?!?!

Even on EBAY, they're going for prices far above what I'm willing to pay!

It's freaking ridiculous!

>>END OF RANT<<

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

*Ahem*

Yeah, I'm done.

<< - >>


Save The Rayne! - 2004-12-27
Want some popcorn? - 2004-06-23
- - 2004-06-19
Pfft. - 2004-06-12
Wheehaa!! Going to see PoA! - 2004-06-02


New�-�Old�-�Guestbook�-�Notes�-�Profile�-� Design�-�Links�-�Bio�-�Host