You Get What You Pay For
2002-08-08 - 4:32 p.m.


Feeling:
Random Thought:
Music:


My grandmother is a cosmetologist, so for as long as I've had hair (except for those two times I experimented and went to a "real" salon--all the while, feeling as though I was buying a baby off the black market, or something worse), she's had a monopoly on my head.

Knowing that, you can imagine that I've had pretty much the *same* two hairstyles for years. Same cut, one permed, one straight. Of course, sometimes I've had bangs, but for the most part I haven't.

*Sigh*...I really loved going to a "real" salon.

Mainly because you get what you pay for.

Anyway, lately I've been dying my hair just a shade darker than my natural color, just to give it some drama. My grandmother concocted the color from two different tones of the same color.

I hope you realize that I'm throwing the terms shade and tone around at random--I can never keep the definitions straight. Yes, the words "shade" and "tone" mean different things.

Anyway.

I stopped by today to make an **APPOINTMENT** to have my hair colored. Her immediate, conditioned reaction was to spew forth a ten-page list of all the things she had to do and why she couldn't do my hair until next week.

"That's fine." I said, somewhere between mowing the lawn and cleaning off the tops of her kitchen cabinets.

The list continued.

"Really, I don't have to have this done immediately--there's no rush."

On with the list, and her random "uh"s an "um"s. "This week is...uh...the flower show. And that'll have me busy until...um...Sunday....uh, uh.."

AARRRGH!

And I can remember sitting in Lisa's shop, happily being pampered and clipped and blow-dried to perfection. Knowing that I was getting *more* than the money I was dishing out for her services. I was getting what *I* wanted, when *I* wanted it, and the peace of mind that beyond my money, I was not to be asked anything.

Sure, I felt the need to wear dark glasses and use an anonymous name, and then lie and say that a friend who was going through beauty school did it...but the end result was worth it.

Whoever said "the best things in life are free," obviously didn't have a grandmother who was a beautician.

<< - >>


Save The Rayne! - 2004-12-27
Want some popcorn? - 2004-06-23
- - 2004-06-19
Pfft. - 2004-06-12
Wheehaa!! Going to see PoA! - 2004-06-02


New�-�Old�-�Guestbook�-�Notes�-�Profile�-� Design�-�Links�-�Bio�-�Host