BlahBlah: A History.
2003-10-25 - 11:29 p.m.


Feeling: Bored.
Random Thought: Why must it be so difficult?
Music: My keys clicking away as I type this.


I've been reading history for the past 3 days. I'm stuck somewhere in the 17th century, but I'm starting to see signs of the 18th here and there.

I have until next friday (the 31st) to read almost 1/3 of the book, and find someone to administer my tests--seeing as I have my first one that day.

I think it might be a good idea.

I also have a computer course that I'm supposed to doing something in, I'm sure. Haven't had a chance to look into that just yet. For all I know, my first assignment was due yesterday. *shrug* It's like an introductory HTML/CSS/JAVA/BLAHBLAHBLAH class, so it shouldn't be too hard. Easy A, I'm thinking.

Or not.

Anyway, the ONE thing that's been pushing me through this stupid history book was the hope that I might get to read a nice, lengthy section on the Salem Witch Trials.

Wrong again.

It went something like this...

"Women played a prominent role in New England's most frightening religious episode: The Salem Witch Trials, during which [blahblah many] people were accused, and [blahblah many] people died.

"But it was the growing economy of [some colony hundreds of miles away, which just ended all references to the Salem Witch Trials] that was the really interesting thing about this time...."

Yeah, that says alot. So, now I have to find something else to keep me trudging forward. Guess I'll just have to hope that they have something interesting to say about Francis Marion (The Swamp Fox), or some other note-worthy aspect of the Southern role in the Revolutionary War.

Perhaps it's because it's been drilled into my head since grade 1 that I find U.S. History to be THE most stagnant subject on the planet. Honestly, it's simple, people!

1- We settled here, and began exploiting the Natives and the land, before finally getting pissed off with the English.

2- We confronted their polished and rigid armies with little more than pitchforks and a bad attitude, and ended up kicking their butts.

3- We got pissed off with each other a little while after defeating the English, and kicked our own butts for a while.

See, isn't that far more simple to understand?

Of course, this course only runs to the Reconstruction period just after the War of Northern Aggression (which is consequently when things really started getting interesting), but for the most part... The three-part list up there is the gist of all that is covered in this course.

And I have to weed through 499 pages of fluff to be able to say I learned that.

Feh.

On and entirely different note...

Marlins Top Yanks to Win World Series.

w00t!! Go MARLINS!! ^_^

<< - >>


Save The Rayne! - 2004-12-27
Want some popcorn? - 2004-06-23
- - 2004-06-19
Pfft. - 2004-06-12
Wheehaa!! Going to see PoA! - 2004-06-02


New�-�Old�-�Guestbook�-�Notes�-�Profile�-� Design�-�Links�-�Bio�-�Host