Money Woes
2003-07-25 - 5:05 p.m.


Feeling: Depressed.
Random Thought: Hate. HATE. Money. Banks. Grr.
Music: Prodigy - Firestarter


I'm tired. I really shouldn't be because I really didn't do anything today except drive 120 miles to fix yet another mess, but I really am tired.

My dad had our second mortgage set up so that there were two half-payments (actually, it was a little over half) drafted from their account twice a month. This worked out great when he was alive because they always hit the account the Monday after he was paid, so it was always covered.

This is the same loan that was covered by life insurance, btw. Not sure if I've whined about that yet or not.

Anyway...

My mom called to notify them of his death (and to make sure, once and for all that it was going to be covered by the policy that accompanied it) a couple of weeks ago, and they said everything would be done. We didn't owe them anything.

Then they proceeded to hit our account again. Not once, but, as we discovered this morning, TWICE.

Now, I think this is the appropriate moment to point out that the policy that came with the loan was for $150K or the amount owed--whichever was the lesser. I think $40K is less than $150K, don't you? With roughly $110K to spare, and that amount would adequately cover any interest acrued during the month it takes to file the paperwork and get the settlement, don't you think?

Fucking bastards.

Anyway, I wake up this morning, and my mom's about to have a nervous breakdown because they've hit our account for yet another payment, and caused two checks to bounce. With several more coming in behind it, I'm sure you can see the dilemma. So, we marched our asses up to the bank, and put the account on hold--after we called and politely told them that they would be refunding the last two payments and paying us the fees that were acquired for the checks that the bank had to pay.

And poor Daddy's little $250 burial aid came in from social security. It didn't even put a dent in the mess that the mortgage place had made. But that's okay. Bitchiness, apparently, prevails, as we are now (once again) sitting pretty.

I fucking hate banks.

Bleh. I'm taking a vacation in October, damnit. I know I've said it countless times before and was never able to go, but I'm going this year. I'll be spending Halloween in another state if it's the last thing I do!

Meh.

<< - >>


Save The Rayne! - 2004-12-27
Want some popcorn? - 2004-06-23
- - 2004-06-19
Pfft. - 2004-06-12
Wheehaa!! Going to see PoA! - 2004-06-02


New�-�Old�-�Guestbook�-�Notes�-�Profile�-� Design�-�Links�-�Bio�-�Host