Sifting through the spam
2003-04-14 - 7:53 p.m.


Feeling:
Random Thought:
Music:


Let's go through Rayne's e-mail, shall we? C'mon, it'll be fun!

We'll break it down by message #, subject title, "from" line (if I feel like it), and my reaction.

And just for the record, I am NOT making these up!

Now, let's get started:

[ Msg#) - "Subject Title" - From: - Rayne's reaction ]

1) "Learn To Love Your Soft, Supple Feet" - Foot Care - Giggles and hits delete.

2) "Christian Singles! Click Here!" - Jolly Oyster - Balks and hits delete.

3) "Don't forget your $25 savings" - A store I shop often - "Oooh! Gimme!" Saves.

4) "Win $10,000 - Poetry Contest" - Amateurs Only - "Ugh." Deletes.

5) "Storm Team Morning forecast - still nice!" - Storm Center from [somewhat local TV station] - "Gak! I've unsubscribed from you people FIFTEEN TIMES! Go away! AAHH! DIE!" Deletes.

6) "Replicate DVDs to CD-ROM!" - Dave Bowers - "Trust me. If I want to, I already know who to call." Smirks and deletes.

7) "[Fwd: FW: Read and send back to me.....you'll see why]" - Aunt Cool - "Love ya! But no." - Reads anyway, then deletes.

8) "Live in Luxury: Introducing Charter Club HOTEL Collection" - "Macy's Bridal" - "Bridal????? BWAHAHAHA!" - Deletes.

9) "Data problems may slow or crash your PC" - Service Update - "Ya think?" Rolls eyes and hits delete.

10) "Buy One Pair of Khakis, Get One 50% off" - Eddie Bauer - Gets all starry-eyed and saves.

11) "* * You are APPROVED! * *" - [email protected] - Get's offended. "No I'm not! I'm DISapproved! Damnit!" Deletes.

12) "=?Cp1252?Q?Savor coffee perfection=3Fa special offer from Gevalia?=" - Coffee Lovers - "I hate coffee. Fuck off. And fix your code before you send out mass e-mails you prick." Deletes.

13) "Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix Audio Book!!!" - "Booksamillion.com Harry Potter Newsletter" - "Wha--? I didn't sign up for a HP newsletter with these people! Oh, wait. Maybe I did. No, it was just their 'inform me of your latest offers' subscription. Eh...whatever. I've already pre-ordered the book, I don't need the audio version, too." Deletes.

14) "Your Free Digital Camera is here" - Limited Time Promo - "I already have a digital camera. Bite my ass." Deletes.

15) "Free Sample - Coral Calcium can change your life" - CoralCalcium - "Oh geez. The health nuts have invaded." Deletes.

16) "Storm Team Evening forecast" - StormTeam (again) - Sighs and deletes.

17) "40-70% Spring Clearance Starts Today!" - Art.com - Pouts. "Hmph. I've been restricted from buying anymore art. There's nowhere left to hang them, and I've got scrolls of prints scattered everywhere." Takes a peek anyway.

I have this one.

I want this one.

And this one.

Hope those links worked.

18) "Enter to win a Williams-Sonoma Romantic Getaway!" - "WeddingChannel.com" - "CHRIST! What is UP with these people?! I'm gonna CHOKE Sleepy!" Sends a remove-me-from-your-mailing-list e-mail and then deletes.

19) "Get a Approved in 3 Mintues" - Service Department - "Heh. NO. I like being disapproved. Geez. Don't you people get it?" Deletes.

20) "Earn a college degree without leaving your PC" - Kaplan - "Right. Already on it." Deletes.

21) "Claim your FREE" - FreeDVDs.com - "Um...yeah. You left something out there, methinks." Delete.

22) "** You are approved! **" - [email protected] - "Jesus H. Fucking Christ. Obviously, somebody's meeting their quota for today.

23) "Get the Iraq Most Wanted Deck of Cards!" - Daily Leads - Gapes. "No they did not. Tell me I'm hallucinating." Deletes.

24) "Important Announcement from drugstore.com" - drugstore.com - "Gak! Puh-leeze tell me you are NOT out of my drugs!" Twitches and reads. "Okay. Whew! Just something about their privacy policy" Reads.

[Oh man, check this out. Part of their new privacy policy regarding the disclosure of PHI (protected health information): "Military Activity and National Security - To the military as required by military command authorities when the patient is a member of the armed forces; to authorized federal officials for intelligence, counterintelligence, and other national security activities authorized by law; and to authorized federal officials so they may provide protection to the president, other authorized persons, or foreign heads of state or conduct special investigations."

Yeah, baby. Let the CIA know all about my Buspirone HCL--it's a terrorists dream come true. *snark*

Oh, and here's another one: "We will use and disclose PHI to carry out health care operations. For example, we may use information in your health record to monitor the quality of our pharmacists performance, to train pharmacy personnel, or to ship prescriptions to you."

Gee...does the UPS man really need that kind of information? Heh. "Be VERY careful when you go to Rayne's door. She takes medication for anxiety, so don't make any sudden moves! You don't want her wigging out, man! IT'S NOT PRETTY!]

Oh look, another one popped up...

25) "You have been unsubscribed" - "WeddingChannel.com" - "Thank God. Anything having to do with the m-word scares the hell outta me." Deletes.

Bah. I hate spam.

<< - >>


Save The Rayne! - 2004-12-27
Want some popcorn? - 2004-06-23
- - 2004-06-19
Pfft. - 2004-06-12
Wheehaa!! Going to see PoA! - 2004-06-02


New�-�Old�-�Guestbook�-�Notes�-�Profile�-� Design�-�Links�-�Bio�-�Host