The Good and The Bad
2003-03-21 - 5:47 a.m.


Feeling:
Random Thought:
Music:


Yay! It works! Alookcloser must be the Good Diaryland Diary Template Fairy or something, 'cause once I saw that she signed my guestbook about the problem, it miraculously fixed itself!

Thanks Diaryland Template Fairy!

Heh. Now I just have to add the link to my 2002 archive.

*momentarily considers doing templates for others, then gets all angsty about her abilities, and pushes the idea aside*

Okay, so things have been about the same lately. I'm still having those icky probs with Chris' site, I should be doing taxes (but I'm procrastinating--as usual), and I'm currently envying my sister for her scoring tickets to the [sometime in the near future] Fleetwood Mac concert.

Other than that, I've received a HUGE reprieve from my Spanish 101 woes, as the instructor is allowing us to use our books on the next test.

I'm still not saying I'll pass (even with the aid of a book), but I'm definitely pleased to no longer have the stress of worrying over it!

I missed my biology lab last week (though I will be allowed to make it up at some point), so I went ahead and did the lab for this week. Therefore, I've been completely biology-lab-free this week! Yay!

On a more depressing note, our local branch (is that the right term to use???) of the National Guard was shipped out on Tuesday. At least, I think that's the day they left.

Anyway, Silver went up there and took pictures of the crowd. I think the whole affair struck a nerve with him (as it should, considering...), even though he wasn't very articulate in expressing it.

But I think I know him well enough to understand what he was trying to say...

In any case, we're off bombing Iraq now. I saw a segment on our local news about "helping our school-age children understand War."

Heh. Let the ranting begin.

Just what the fuck, exactly, have you been telling these children we've been doing since 9-11? Playing in Afghanistan?? Having cookies and ice cream with other countries that have the potential to strike at us like that? People, please! We've been "at war" now for nearly TWO YEARS! If you're *just now* getting around to telling your children what's going on, I will declare myself torn between wondering at your parental/teaching abilites, and applauding your tap-dancing skills!

There's a huge difference between keeping the Santa conspiracy quiet, and keeping children blind to everything that's been happening, when they *know* that something is going on--even if they somehow miraculously don't know exactly what that something is! Kids aren't stupid! They pick up on, and understand a LOT more than most adults give them credit for!

Note: I'm NOT saying that kids shouldn't be sheltered from the horrors of war. Of *course* they should! But it isn't fair to keep them blinded from the concept, when it is a very REAL part of human society. And again, there's absolutely NO excuse for any parent or guardian or teacher to be JUST NOW getting around to explaining what's been going on for the past eighteen months!

>>END OF RANT<<

Farewell for now.

<< - >>


Save The Rayne! - 2004-12-27
Want some popcorn? - 2004-06-23
- - 2004-06-19
Pfft. - 2004-06-12
Wheehaa!! Going to see PoA! - 2004-06-02


New�-�Old�-�Guestbook�-�Notes�-�Profile�-� Design�-�Links�-�Bio�-�Host