Silver's Soapbox
2003-02-07 - 4:41 a.m.


Feeling:
Random Thought:
Music:


Oh my...

I don't think I've EVER gone this long without updating!

And unfortunately, I don't have anything really good to say in this one.

I've been busy getting settled into my new class schedule, and several projects have come my way. I failed my first biology test today, but it's not for lack of studying!

Damnit.

Anyway, I have nothing else to say, so I'm just gonna share something that Silver wrote in response to a "Petition against War" e-mail thingy that's been circulating. This'll also give you a glimpse into the mind of this rather complex character in my life. The majority of his petition (I'm guessing probably 95% of it), by the time it reached him, was signed by Europeans. It came to him directly from the U.K.--forwarded by an Aussie friend of his, who moved there a few years ago.

~*~**~*~

The U.S. Constitution authorizes me to make the attempt to explain to you how completely full of shit you all sound.

Like lemmings you blindly speak of 'peace' in an unbalanced world, with people that would seek to destroy that peace whether you like it or not. Do you honestly think that Sadam Hussien, Kim Chong-Il, or Osama Bin Laden gives a damn about you, OR your family?

Gouge out your own eyes if you must - you still won't see another view from the roof of the World Trade Center.

Anyone with sense is 'against' a possibility of a third world war, but were you all naive enough to really think that the 'possibility' isn't already quite there? I don't actually think Hussein could hit the US with a weapon the calibur of which we're currently trying to rid him, but perhaps England? Perhaps Italy? Germany? What then? Should we sit idly by, and let this guy simply get stronger? How many people should we let him kill before we take a stand?

Forget the argument that 'Islam isn't the enemy.' Anyone with 3 or more brain cells firing KNOWS this already. Islam is a religion that, at it's core, teaches the practices of peace. If not for the Islamic peoples of the world, things like science and medicine would still be in the dark ages.

Islamic fundamentalists (for whatever reason) don't practice the teachings of the Koran in way that the majority of Islamic people do. But who makes the news? The person with his head (or body) quietly bowed in prayer, or the guy who runs into a building in a jumbo jet?

When diplomacy runs out, when sanctions are ineffective, the only other option is to go to war. Some don't like this. I don't like it either...but that's the way it is. Burying your head in the sand won't make these people or these situations go away. Strumming Kum By Yah and lighting a candle, or singing John Lennon tunes won't get it done either. It's almost childlike to believe it will.

On many levels I agree with the statements made, and share the same desire for such a reality to exist. But then the alarm clock goes off and I find out I'm still in the REAL WORLD, and that things simply don't work that way.

In every major world-changing event, for the last 200+ years, America has been there - unless we were specifically asked not to be. When Hitler tried to vacation 'all over europe,' America was there (*winks toward France*). And when Sadam Hussein decided to vacation in Kuwait, America was there - as was England, and Austrailia, and France, and Italy and many more.

Yet time and again America is demonized for using force in an area that not only takes our own interests into account, but also the world's interests as well.

Hey, I would LOVE to have back the tax money I have personally spent over the years on our military. Of course, if those that came before me would have had the same thought, and if they would have acted ON that thought, I could likely have been born a Bolshevic Slave--and not the Red-White-and-Blue-Blooded American asshole I am today.

________________________________________

I miss my grandfather, and thank God daily for him doing what he did. If you are in Europe, you should as well. If not for him, and men like him -AMERICAN MEN MADE OUT OF ROLLED BLUE FUCKING HARDASS DETROIT STEEL - your elitist asses would be under the control of an Adolf Hitler--or worse.

Why is it you couldn't handle this prick on your own? Could you not 'moblilze'? (We had to come by BOAT for God sakes) Or perhaps you didn't 'notice' Hitler gaining power? Is this 'Her Majesty's Intelligence' at work, or what?? Perhaps the French (*invented panties*) were too busy analyzing his fashion sense?? I mean, damn people! Add these numbers up any way you wish, and you all STILL look fucking retarted in the eyes of this American, admittedly quite safe on the outside 50 years later. But that's ok...that's why God Blessed America and not 'you people.'

If I had to do what my grandfather did, would I? Sure. In a happy ass heartbeat. No questions asked. Could I do it? Don't know. Difficult times make men great...if they are made of the right metal. But I know that I would do what had to be done, EVEN if it meant that when it was over I had to drink away the last half of my life in some vain attempt to 'forget'.

I would do it so that Nyk & Ace would have a better life, and could tell your grandchildren how full of shit THEY are in the year 2050.

(*winks at France again*)

Sit down tonyte, and look at your children...seriously. Had it not been for America, where would >YOU< be??

Mr. The Wind

~*~**~*~

My own, personal comments on this?

Well, that's another story, now isn't it...

<< - >>


Save The Rayne! - 2004-12-27
Want some popcorn? - 2004-06-23
- - 2004-06-19
Pfft. - 2004-06-12
Wheehaa!! Going to see PoA! - 2004-06-02


New�-�Old�-�Guestbook�-�Notes�-�Profile�-� Design�-�Links�-�Bio�-�Host