The Missing Duchess and Hogwarts Online!
2003-01-11 - 7:27 p.m.


Feeling:
Random Thought:
Music:


I just got back from my grandmother's house, where I was looking for a missing cat. My cousin (Aunt Cool's daughter, who is in college at Clemson), stopped by with her boyfriend--whose name I don't *even* remember--for a visit on her way back to school. She brought her cat (Duchess as she's called) with her, and they noticed that it was missing when she got ready to leave. They spent forever looking for the kitty, but eventually had to give up the search 'cause dude had to get back (he was supposed to be at work around 8).

About twenty minutes after she left, of course, the cat decided to come out of hiding. Apparently, it had found a nice hole in the lining of my grandmother's matress (under the bed, that is) and crawled up in there. I called her cell phone and left a message to let her know that we'd found the animal.

It went something like this:

Me: "Hey [Cousin], this is Rayne. It's ten 'til seven--"

Grandmother: *interrupting me* "LET ME TELL HER!"

Me: *startled* "oh, okay..." *hands phone to g'mother*

Grandmother: "[Cousin]?...[Cousin]?"

Me: "No! It's her voice mail. Just give it here!"

Grandmother: "Oh...well, what's voice mail?"

Me: *snatches phone back* "Sorry 'bout that. Hahah. Um ... we found the cat .... ah, it was um ... under grandmother's bed ................. so, um .... uh .... call her back ..... whenever .... BYE!"

I hate it when my concentration gets screwed up!

Then I had to explain to her what voice mail actually is (I thought she knew!), and why I had so rudely snatched the phone from her (there IS a time limit!).

Anyway, she got the message in the next town and they turned around and came back to get the cat. Dude's gonna be late for work, though. He was supposed to be there at 8:00, and we're at least an hour and a half away from Clemson.

So, after the whole phone incident, I asked my grandmother to french braid my hair, which she did. Unfortunately, my hair was not cooperating so it ended up looking like poopy. I thanked her, of course, and wore it home like that. But I took it down as soon as I got here.

So, that was the most eventful part of my day.

~*~**~*~

Last night, while trying to alleviate my excruciating bout of boredom (and I promise that I have never been so bored in all my life as I was last night) I found the link listed below. Of course, I also started writing a story, but that's for another time.

*Ahem* Yes, the link:

Virtual Hogwarts

It looks pretty damn cool, but they don't make things very easy to understand. I mean, they tell you to go to the FAQ section before you even THINK about signing up, but the freakin' FAQ section isn't exactly very informative. So apparently if you want to know anything at all about the site and how everything works, you'll have to go and lurk around as a "guest" like me.

All I know so far is that you can join when admission is open (which won't be until this summer--for the next "term"), you'll be sorted into a house, and you can take "classes" and do other things to earn points for your house. Forums represent the house "common rooms" and "great hall." They even have virtual Quidditch! Of course, that's really just where the teams meet in an IRC chatroom and answer trivia questions while the referee yells "BLUDGER" every so often. They also have head boys and girls, prefects, professors, and...um...yeah.

It's a Virtual Hogwarts.

Go check it out.

<< - >>


Save The Rayne! - 2004-12-27
Want some popcorn? - 2004-06-23
- - 2004-06-19
Pfft. - 2004-06-12
Wheehaa!! Going to see PoA! - 2004-06-02


New�-�Old�-�Guestbook�-�Notes�-�Profile�-� Design�-�Links�-�Bio�-�Host