"Ode to J.K. Rowling" (cuz Harry gets all the love)
2002-11-15 - 4:18 p.m.


Feeling:
Random Thought:
Music:


I'd just like to go on the record here and say that I did not jump on the Harry Potter bandwagon until the first movie came out on video.

Until then, I didn't understand what all the hoopla was about this kid.

I bought the video for my sister, Dingy, but ended up keeping it when she pissed me off. Since I had paid for it, of course, I had to watch it.

It was like Crack, I tell you!!

Not that I know anything about Crack...but...um....yeah...

Moving on.

So I watched the movie, and was hooked from the very first second (just like the other billions of fans on the planet). This, of course, had me very interested in reading the books. I had to do read them in secret, however, because I had just recently been teasing Dingy about finally finding decent literature on her level of reading.

Unfortunately, I didn't get around to reading them until early last month. It only took me two days to read the first two books, and naturally, I wasn't disappointed. The secrecy didn't last long either, since I immediately started tooting the J.K. Rowling horn, and singing about how much I loved her seemingly boundless imagination.

Then the other night, I caught the interview they were doing with J.K. Rowling on the Biography channel.

Can I just say how completely awe-inspiring this woman is?!

Forget Harry Potter (even though I know as well as I sit here that you simply CAN'T), forget all the hype about the books and the movies--this woman, this writer...SHE is what blows me away.

If she'd never made a dime, never had one word of her story printed, she'd STILL be amazing to me.

Did you know that she has tons of pages devoted to the details of the lives and world of her characters--just for her own pleasure in knowing every detail about them?

She says she likes to have faith in knowing that an author (any author) knows every detail about their characters and the story, whether they disclose the information to the reader or not. And that is why she has meticulously recorded all of these minute details that will probably never be used.

And I thought I was the only weirdo on the planet who thought like that!

I couldn't believe how much I could relate to practically everything she said! I've read about authors before--plenty of them--but I've never actually been able to say OUT LOUD (literally) that I totally understand what they're saying.

I think the most significant thing...that is, the thing that REALLY got to me...was the fact that her mother died from Multiple Sclerosis. My mom has MS, so that just took the level of understanding to a whole new height.

All in all, it was a great show. I came away from it completely inspired. That's how it should always be.

The second movie opens tonight, but I'm not sure if I'll be able to see it in theaters. But we'll see.

For now, I'll just return to my writing with renewed courage.

<< - >>


Save The Rayne! - 2004-12-27
Want some popcorn? - 2004-06-23
- - 2004-06-19
Pfft. - 2004-06-12
Wheehaa!! Going to see PoA! - 2004-06-02


New�-�Old�-�Guestbook�-�Notes�-�Profile�-� Design�-�Links�-�Bio�-�Host