Tornadic Morning
2002-11-11 - 3:59 p.m.


Feeling:
Random Thought:
Music:


Two words I never want to wake up to:

*Tornado Warning*

It was so weird.

I woke up about 7 a.m. (for no apparent reason--and I'd only just gone to sleep sometime after 3 a.m.) with an uneasy feeling. My first thought was, "something's wrong with Missy." But she was laying there beside me--happily chasing rabbits in her sleep, I'm sure.

But something still wasn't right. I started to ignore it--even rolled over to go back to sleep--but then the power went out and I knew what was up.

I grabbed Miss Priss, and stepped out into the hallway--just in time to hear my mom calling from the living room, "Rayne, come on out into the hallway...it's a tornado warning."

Instant fight mode.

I rounded up all the animals and locked them in the master bathroom (which is where all seven of us--my mom and me, plus five dogs--hung out for a good twenty minutes while the worst was blowing over). We finally got a decent station to come in on my dad's hand-held radio, and learned that the main warning was for the northern part of the county. The town area was told to take cover, but that most of the damage would be done north of town.

This was good for us, bad for Silver.

My mom (intelligence in action) ran to the phone, and dialed Silver's number. He assured her that they were NOT in their house...they'd gone to Roo's mom's house--a much more solid structure, considering the fact that it's made completely out of concrete!

So as the rain pounded and the wind blew, me and my mom and our five dogs sat staring intently out of the window just outside of the bathroom, maneuvering around to keep the radio station within range.

There was minimal damage--mainly just a bunch of limbs down, some trees, but almost no structural damage that I know. By 11 a.m. all watches and warnings were removed, which meant I was able to go to class. I don't like driving when the weather is iffy, but I really didn't have another choice.

So that was my morning.

And Lord knows...if I *never* see another morning like this one, it will be entirely too soon.

<< - >>


Save The Rayne! - 2004-12-27
Want some popcorn? - 2004-06-23
- - 2004-06-19
Pfft. - 2004-06-12
Wheehaa!! Going to see PoA! - 2004-06-02


New�-�Old�-�Guestbook�-�Notes�-�Profile�-� Design�-�Links�-�Bio�-�Host