Get a Clue, Officer Dickhead
2002-09-21 - 11:06 p.m.


Feeling:
Random Thought:
Music:


I got stopped today.

At first, I was very contrite and respectful. Then, as I suppose some cops think they HAVE to be, he decided to get cocky, and started talking to me like I was just a weak, stupid female who needed to be educated by a big, strong, intelligent male like himself.

I am so not kidding. It made me want to vomit.

I kept thinking...WTF?

I THOUGHT PEOPLE LIKE THIS DIDN'T *EXIST* ANYMORE!!!!!

It was very disheartening, and very disgusting.

I mean, I used to tolerate things like this when I was younger...mainly because I was YOUNGER and I KNEW that I didn't know very much about life. But that has since changed. I don't know ALL there is to know about life, but I know enough (more than enough) to be treated as the intelligent and independant woman that I am.

Yet today's little scenerio made me stop and wonder....

Will I always have to deal with the Officer Dickheads of the world? Must I be FORCED to tolerate the small-minded individuals (males and females alike) who think that a woman's place is in the kitchen, bare-foot and pregnant, keeping some man's dinner warm, and bringing him his newspaper and slippers?

I know that no one would blatantly treat me in such a sexist way, but it is possible to be "oppressed" (so to speak) due to trivial reasons and excuses (i.e. not getting a promotion because "you're not qualified" while promoting a guy who has HALF the qualifications that I have).

It's possible.

I just didn't want to admit it.

See where my optimism gets me?

Don't get me wrong, I'm not whining about women's rights and all that. I KNOW how far women have come, and I'm proud of it! I KNOW that there's pretty much *nothing* we can't do. And I KNOW that there are many men out there who see women as being completely and totally equal to them. All of it--the extraordinary, the good, the bad, and the disgusting--has been drilled into my head since birth by my feminist mother.

It's just that I was shown today, in a most unpleasant way, that there are still people out there who think that, just because my reproductive organs don't grow on the outside of my body, I am somehow terribly inferior.

Understand: I am inferior to no one.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

P.S. - In case you're wondering, I was given a warning...not a ticket. However, I think I would have suffered four points and $200 much better than Officer Dickhead's abominable attitude.

<< - >>


Save The Rayne! - 2004-12-27
Want some popcorn? - 2004-06-23
- - 2004-06-19
Pfft. - 2004-06-12
Wheehaa!! Going to see PoA! - 2004-06-02


New�-�Old�-�Guestbook�-�Notes�-�Profile�-� Design�-�Links�-�Bio�-�Host