I Choose to Remember
2002-09-11 - 11:24 a.m.


Feeling:
Random Thought:
Music:


My stomach hurts. It's just nerves.

And it's obvious as to why.

September 11, 2001: I was shocked, yes, but the magnitude of what happened didn't really hit me until days later. I remember looking at my nephew and thinking that he doesn't understand what happened. He has no clue what it meant, but he may feel the reprecussions later in his lifetime.

So I started saving pictures, speeches, articles. Not enough to fill a shrine, mind you...but definately enough to help him one day understand what that terrible day was like. It's enough to let him know what it meant to us then, what it will always mean to those of us who watched it, and to help him form a sound opinion of his own--good or bad.

Why did I do this?

Because I don't personally understand all the hoopla about Vietnam, nor about Pearl Harbor and WWII. I wasn't there. The only understanding I have of them was handed down to me through someone else's opinions. I don't want to give him my opinions, I want him to form his own--through his own comprehension and understanding.

This is how I choose to remember.

This is how I choose to honor those who died.

This is how I choose to greive.

It's not much, but it's better than the "Americans" out there who have choosen to whine and complain and bash the very existance of our country. I've seen more and more of them over the past year--tossing their cynical self-righteousness around, loitering abominably on the very freedoms which give them the priviledge.

It makes me sick.

I don't want the impressionable mind of *any* child, much less one of my own blood relation, to fall into the hands of the cynism of people like that.

I want him to always have hope and faith, to always know that every freedom he is given is something to be cherished, and to know that they are all things for which people have sacrficed their lives in order to protect.

I choose to remember...and in my choosing, I carry my own small light of wisdom into tomorrow's world.

<< - >>


Save The Rayne! - 2004-12-27
Want some popcorn? - 2004-06-23
- - 2004-06-19
Pfft. - 2004-06-12
Wheehaa!! Going to see PoA! - 2004-06-02


New�-�Old�-�Guestbook�-�Notes�-�Profile�-� Design�-�Links�-�Bio�-�Host