And that's FINAL!
2002-09-02 - 3:03 p.m.


Feeling:
Random Thought:
Music:


Saturday was, of course, the baby shower. It was only an hour long--and a drop-in at that. But like I'd mentioned before, it was one of those days when you just want to slip quietly into a coma. So I guess you could say that one hour felt more like forty years...and if that wasn't bad enough, the few people who showed up decided to linger.

Typical of the South. Everything lingers down here--summer, humidity, family, ex-boyfriends, extra pounds...you get the picture.

Anyway, when it was finally over, I felt like I'd accomplished something. I felt good, Roo got a lot of useful stuff, and everyone seemed to enjoy themselves. Even better--I didn't get stressed out about *anything* (hardly).

Then, as it always happens (because this is MY life, and I should have learned by now that nothing will ever be good enough--much less perfect), I got a call from my sister. She was the other hostess of this shower, but she wasn't able to make it because she couldn't get anyone to take over for her at work. Yet, instead of thanking me for handling everything, the following conversation took place:

Dingy: "How'd it go?"

Me: "It went good, she got a lot of things she really needed."

Dingy: "Good. How many people showed up?"

Me: "About half."

Dingy: "You made too much food!"

Me: "I invited 20 people, Dingy!"

Dingy: (as if it was somehow MY fault) "And HOW MANY showed up??!!"

Me: "[Named everyone who showed]. So, that makes about...what...10 people?"

Dingy: "And you fixed food for 50!"

Me: "No I didn't! I fixed enough for twenty five people at the MOST! How was I supposed to know who would show and who wouldn't??"

Dingy: (totally ignoring me) "I thought this was supposed to be casual!"

Me: "IT WAS! Damn, Dingy, you couldn't GET more casual! It was ALL FAMILY!"

Dingy: (again, as though it's somehow my fault) "But you used Grandmother's GLASS PUNCH CUPS!"

Me: *smacks forehead* "She insisted! And if you don't like how I handled it, then why the hell weren't YOU there to do it the way YOU wanted?!"

Dingy: (acting as though I'd just bwoken her wittle heart) "I HAD TO WORK!"

Me: "UGH!" *slams phone down*

We're sisters. No where in the Contract of Sisterhood does it say we *have* to like each other.

Five minutes later....

My Dad: "Aunt Psycho called earlier. She said she wasn't very impressed with the shower."

Me: "I really don't give a shit what Aunt Psycho has to say!!"

Poor Daddy-Dan...he always seems to walk straight into my backlash...never fails. But all this unnecessary (and unsolicited) criticism has made me come to a very sound decision.

I will not be giving anymore baby showers.

None.

Ever.

The only person left in our family who would ever require a baby shower is Dingy. And, again, no where in the Contract of Sisterhood does it state that the baby sister HAS to give her elder sister a baby shower.

I've read it thoroughly!

I'll just leave it for someone else to take care of....she'd only criticize my efforts anyway...

<< - >>


Save The Rayne! - 2004-12-27
Want some popcorn? - 2004-06-23
- - 2004-06-19
Pfft. - 2004-06-12
Wheehaa!! Going to see PoA! - 2004-06-02


New�-�Old�-�Guestbook�-�Notes�-�Profile�-� Design�-�Links�-�Bio�-�Host