Redecorating Saga Begins
2002-08-03 - 3:22 p.m.


Feeling:
Random Thought:
Music:


About six months or so ago, I decided I'd be really nice and paint my mom's bedroom and bathroom while she was out of town. I picked a pale rose color for the bedroom and a pale green color for the bathroom. Well, the house has 10 ft. ceilings and the rooms are huge, but I was optimistic.

Unfortunately, the icky "clay pot" color my mom had picked out, way back in the wee-early eighties, when they remodeled the house turned out to be a paint-guzzler--meaning, it kept absorbing the paint that I put over it. I stopped counting how many coats I had to do after the 2nd. After that was finally finished (took me two days), I decided that the bathroom would have to wait since it was the SAME clay pot color. Plus, she was arriving home that day anyway.

So, it's taken me six months to work up enough optimism (i.e. forget that the bedroom even exists!) to tackle the bathroom.

To make matters even more eventful (why yes, I do believe I AM a masochist), I decided I'd be crafty and scrape off the tacky the popcorn ceiling (which does NOT contain asbestos, btw--thank goodness 'cause I inhaled a gallon of it!). It was already falling off anyway from twenty years of steam, so it should be a piece of cake, right?

WRONG!

I got about two-thirds of the ceiling scraped without a hitch, and all I had left was a patch that was about 18 inches wide by about 6 feet long. Unfortunately, the people who put in the damned ceiling tried to cover one of their fuck-ups by adding about 1/8" of plaster (or dry-wall mud, or whatever you call it) and then spraying the popcorn texture over it. Let's just say that if I don't scrape enough, the imprint of the popcorn is still there, and if I scrape to far, the ceiling looks buckled. Needless to say, this proposed a problem. So my mom decided that they would just find some sort of ceiling tiles to go in there.

I felt bad, but I sure as hell wasn't going to protest.

Then I decided that if I couldn't get the ceiling done, the least I could do is get the painting finished, so I taped everything off and got to it.

*Light Bulb Ping*

Paint-guzzling clay pot.

I've done two coats, I'm dirty and grungy, I have paint splotches from head to toe, and I think it'll still need at *least* one more coat (if I'm freaking lucky--which I'm doubting very seriously!). Right now though, even *thinking* about moving hurts.

So, let's recap on that, shall we?

1. I'm coughing up white dusty crap.

2. I'm covered in paint

3. I don't smell too good, and

4. I'm sore as hell.

Oh, and did I mention that I'm only going on about four hours of sleep?

No *wonder* you never hear anyone saying "I wanna be just like Blue!" Of course not! Who the hell wants to be 'tarded??

me

<< - >>


Save The Rayne! - 2004-12-27
Want some popcorn? - 2004-06-23
- - 2004-06-19
Pfft. - 2004-06-12
Wheehaa!! Going to see PoA! - 2004-06-02


New�-�Old�-�Guestbook�-�Notes�-�Profile�-� Design�-�Links�-�Bio�-�Host