Writing Prompt Thingo
2004-01-22 - 6:19 p.m.


Feeling: Rested.
Random Thought:
Music: Fem 2 Fem - I Lose Myself


Where do you go when you want to get away from the pressures of life, family, work, etc?

My mind closes one door, only to turn and open another. This other door is the front entrance of a house that sits atop a lazy slope of wooded land. Inside, the light is warm and inviting, and there's always someone there... waiting for me, happy that I'm finally home. Their presence is a comfort to me. It's familiar and soothing, and as long as they are there, I would never wish to be anywhere else.

Sometimes, several people are there, all of whom are friends with me, and with one another. We sit around talking in the easy way close friends do. I fit in with these people. They are a small group, but they are my equals in every sense of the word. They understand me. I never have to explain, they just... know. And they are always there when I need them. Even if I say I don't want them there. Because they know. They understand.

They should.

That house is my mind, my imagination. It's the only place I have when I need to escape life. That one comforting person is the true me--the girl who had to be safely buried away in order to preserve those last few drops of hope and goodness. She's the girl I used to be. The last of the threadbare remnants of my soul.

Those friends are the many facets of my personality. There's the Cynic, the oldest of the lot, who obsessively carries a microscope with him where ever he goes, and uses it religiously. He is the spouse of The Idealist, a very sweet lady who smiles all the time--even when you insult her. She has a thing for casserole dishes.

Then there's the twins, Creativity and Logic. Their constant bickering can be tiresome, but they're really cool as long as you keep them on opposite sides of the room. Those two ladies sitting by the window are Fairness and Selfishness. They got married last month, so they're a lot more agreeable these days, but you should've been here when they were still dating. Oi! We're all holding our breath until the honeymoon is over.

Now, see that luscious person standing over there in the corner? That's Sexuality. Don't ask. We don't know, either. We just like looking at him... or her... because they're so pretty. Confusion is the closest to him/her, but then, she's often wont to meddle in everyone's business. Quizzative little wench, that one. Her brother is Worry. He's not here right now, but he's bound to drop by at any given moment. There's a few others lurking around, and plenty more that pop in every now and then. And of course, there are the tennants themselves, but that is for another time.

Off with you now, you shouldn't linger here. It's not safe for outsiders, and I don't have adequate insurance to cover any damages one might incur.

See you on the outside.

<< - >>


Save The Rayne! - 2004-12-27
Want some popcorn? - 2004-06-23
- - 2004-06-19
Pfft. - 2004-06-12
Wheehaa!! Going to see PoA! - 2004-06-02


New�-�Old�-�Guestbook�-�Notes�-�Profile�-� Design�-�Links�-�Bio�-�Host